Ben White has been selected in Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend’s 41-player squad in preparation for their 2023 Rugby World Cup campaign.

Irish’s scrum-half is one of nine squad players to play for neither of Glasgow Warriors or Edinburgh Rugby, and will look to follow on his strong recent form for his national side.

White started all five of the Thistle’s Guinness Six Nations games this term and scored in a 29-23 Calcutta Cup win at Twickenham Stadium against England, also making three replacement appearances in the 2022 Autumn Nations Series.

The 2022/23 season for White has seen him score four tries in 19 Club appearances across the Gallagher Premiership and the Heineken Champions Cup for London Irish.

The 24-year-old will look to be part of a maiden senior World Cup campaign, with the current training squad commencing training on 29th May before being trimmed down to 33-player personnel before the tournament in France.

The squad will be captained by flanker Jamie Ritchie and includes two uncapped players, second-row forward Cameron Henderson and centre Stafford McDowall.

Scotland are back in action when they face Italy, France and Georgia in The Famous Grouse Nations Series at BT Murrayfield this July and August, alongside an away fixture against France in an away warm-up in St. Etienne in August.

The Rugby World Cup itself will see Scotland compete in Pool B alongside South Africa, Ireland, Tonga and Romania, with a first fixture against the world champion Springboks on Sunday 10 September in Marseille.


Scotland training squad for Rugby World Cup 2023

Forwards (23)

Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) 7 caps

Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps

Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps

Andy Christie (Saracens) 4 caps

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 4 caps

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 25 caps

Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps

Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 9 caps

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 33 caps

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 58 caps

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 62 caps

Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 73 caps

Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) uncapped

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) 47 caps

WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 54 caps

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 41 caps

Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 21 caps

Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) 3 caps

Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 25 caps

Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby) 23 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps

Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 57 caps


Backs (18)

Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 33 caps

Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 42 caps

Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby) 27 caps

Ben Healy (Munster Rugby) 1 caps

Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 100 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 20 caps

Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 36 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 43 caps

Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 61 caps

Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 5 caps

Finn Russell (Racing 92) 69 caps

Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps

Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps

Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 16 caps

Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 28 caps

Ben White (London Irish) 14 caps

Ad Space