London Irish winger Alex Lewington has been named in England Saxons’ squad for next month’s tour to South Africa.

Lewington, 24, is part of a 27-man squad that will play two games against the Springboks’ second string national side on Friday June 10 and Friday June 17 respectively.

Both games will kick-off at 6.10pm, the first of which will take place in Bloemfontein with the second staged in George.

England Saxons Head Coach Ali Hepher said: “Playing South Africa twice in South Africa is going to be a great challenge and a significant test for us, but it is also an incredibly exciting opportunity for the players and management to prove themselves.

“The series will give the players international experience and will be an important stepping stone towards international honours.”

England Saxons Squad


Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)

Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)

Tommy Taylor (Wasps)

George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers)

Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps)

Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints) *16 senior England caps

James Craig (Northampton Saints)

Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby) *22 senior England caps

Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)

Donovan Armand (Exeter Chiefs)

Matthew Kvesic (Gloucester) *2 senior England caps

James Chisholm (Harlequins)

Sam Jones (Wasps)


Dan Robson (Wasps)

Michael Young (Newcastle Falcons)

Oliver Devoto (Bath Rugby)

Danny Cipriani (Wasps) *14 senior England caps

Christian Wade (Wasps) *1 senior England cap

Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby) *1 senior England cap

Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)

Nick Tompkins (Saracens)

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints) *13 senior England caps

Alex Lewington (London Irish)

Sam James (Sale Sharks)

Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)

Management Team

Head Coach - Ali Hepher (Exeter Chiefs)

Assistant Coach - Andy Titterrell (Wasps)

Assistant Coach - Alan Dickens (Northampton Saints)

Team Manager - Richard Hill

Ad Space