Declan Kidney has named the squad that will host the inaugural match of the 2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup tomorrow night against Montpellier Hérault Rugby (8pm kick-off).

Facundo Gigena, Agustin Creevy and Lovejoy Chawatama are in the front row, with Australia internationals Rob Simmons and Adam Coleman in the second row.

Matt Rogerson captains the side from the six shirt and is joined in the back row by Juan Martin Gonzalez and So’otala Fa’aso’o.

Ben White and Paddy Jackson form the halfback duo, and Benhard van Rensburg links up with Will Joseph in the centres.

Ollie Hassell-Collins, Lucio Cinti and Ben Loader are the back three trio.

“We can’t wait to get underway in the Heineken Champions Cup,” said Declan Kidney.

“Getting to this point is a credit to the work from the players, staff and coaches. However, we aren’t here to make up the numbers.

“We know it will be a big challenge that the Top 14 Champions will present to us tomorrow night, but one that we are looking forward to. We have prepared well, and our aim is to make our supporters proud.”

London Irish:
15 Ben Loader, 14 Lucio Cinti, 13 Will Joseph, 12 Benhard van Rensburg, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Ben White, 1 Facundo Gigena, 2 Agustin Creevy, 3 Lovejoy Chawatama, 4 Rob Simmons, 5 Adam Coleman, 6 Matt Rogerson (c), 7 Juan Martin Gonzalez, 8 So’otala Fa’aso’o.

16 Mike Willemse, 17 Danilo Fischetti, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Chunya Munga, 20 Chandler Cunningham-South, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Rory Jennings, 23 Luca Morisi.

Please click here to buy tickets!

Ad Space