England U20 head coach Alan Dickens has named his team to play Ireland in their final home game of the U20 Six Nations Championship at StoneX Stadium, on Saturday.

Mikey Summerfield, Chandler Cunningham-South, Lucas Brooke and Will Joseph have all been included in the squad.

There are six changes to the starting line up from England’s game against Wales in the fourth round of the championship.

George Hendy returns at full back having last represented the side against Italy. The remaining backs are all in the same positions as last week with Deago Bailey at right wing and Cassius Cleaves on the left. Jacob Cusick plays at outside centre with Ethan Grayson on the inside. Jamie Benson is at fly half with Sam Edwards at scrum half. 

Emeka Ilione remains at number 8 and captains the side for the first time in the championship. Openside flanker Toby Knight remains in position but is joined by Ewan Richards at blindside flanker.

In the second row, Tom Lockett returns having played against Scotland and Italy, and Lewis Chessum starts, having come off the bench against Wales.

In the front row, John Stewart comes back as hooker, Fin Baxter remains at loose head prop with Tim Hoyt named at tight head, making his Six Nations debut. 

Previously capped, Finn Theobald-Thomas, Mark Dormer, Mikey Summerfield, Chandler Cunningham-South, Lucas Brooke and Louie Johnson are on the bench, with newcomers Nye Thomas and Will Joseph. 

Dickens said: “The team produced some good performances against Wales in the last round, although there were areas we should have capitalised on and we’ve been working on that this week.  

“The competition within the squad is evident during training and drives the standards during the week. Our game against Ireland last summer was certainly a physical battle and we expect much the same at the weekend. Ireland have secured three wins out three, so we know how tough a challenge it is going to be.  

“The players have given their all during training and I have no doubt that they will take that onto the pitch at StoneX Stadium on Saturday night.” 

England U20 v Ireland U20

15. George Hendy
14. Deago Bailey
13. Jacob Cusick
12. Ethan Grayson
11. Cassius Cleaves
10. Jamie Benson
9. Sam Edward

1. Fin Baxter
2. John Stewart
3. Tim Hoyt
4. Lewis Chessum
5. Tom Lockett
6. Ewan Richards
7. Toby Knight
8. Emeka Ilione


16. Finn Theobald-Thomas
17. Mark Dormer
18. Mike Summerfield
19. Chandler Cunningham-South
20. Lucas Brooke
21. Nye Thomas
22. Louie Johnson
23. Will Joseph


Ad Space