England pathway performance coach Jim Mallinder has announced his U17 development squad for this month’s training camp featuring five London Irish players.

Finley Brown, Michael Dykes, Tarek Haffar, Alex Harmes and Will Joseph are all included in the camp that will take place in the North-East towards the end of this month.

London Irish Academy coach, Jon Fisher also joins Mallinder’s team as part of the coach development agreement.

The camp will allow pathway coaches an opportunity to discuss playing themes with the squad ahead of the summer tour to South Africa, as well as take a closer look at selected players before selecting the group for the August fixtures.

There will also be an opportunity to train against Scotland in a number of different scenarios during the camp.

The squad includes several players involved with the England U18 squad at the Six Nations Festival, including Orlando Bailey, Fin Baxter, Phil Brantingham, Louis Hillman-Cooper, Ewan Richards and John Stewart.

Jim Mallinder said: “We had a training weekend between our north and south U17 groups and from that we have selected a smaller squad for this development camp in Newcastle.

“During the weekend we’ll have a training exercise with Scotland, which will be useful and allows a further chance to look closer at this group. Ultimately this will form the basis of the squad we take to South Africa for our summer development tour in August, which marks the start of our U18 international season.

“This camp is really the start of their journey and a chance for us to introduce them to the playing themes in which we want them to explore as they progress through the pathway.”

 England U17 development squad

Charlie Atkinson Wasps (Abingdon School)

Orlando Bailey Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

Fin Baxter Harlequins (Wellington College)

Oscar Beard Harlequins (Cranleigh School)

Joe Bedlow Sale Sharks (Myerscough School)

Phil Brantingham Newcastle Falcons (RGS Newcastle)

Finley Brown London Irish (Cranleigh School)

Sam Bryan Saracens (Felsted School)

Alex Cahill Saracens (Dulwich College)

Michael Dykes London Irish (St Pauls College)

Daniel Eckersley Wasps (Bloxham School)

Sam Edwards Leicester Tigers (Brooksby Melton College)

Jack Forsythe Worcester Warriors (Warwick School)

Ethan Grayson Northampton Saints (Northampton School for Boys)

Tarek Haffar London Irish (St Pauls College)

Robin Hardwick Leicester Tigers (Rugby School)

Alex Harmes London Irish (St Pauls College)

Louis Hillman-Cooper Gloucester Rugby (Cheltenham College)

Emeka Ilione Leicester Tigers (Rugby School)

Will Joseph London Irish (Millfield School)

Jon Lilley Worcester Warriors

Oliver Melville Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School)

Ewan Murphy Sale Sharks (Lymm High School)

Ewan Richards Bath Rugby (Millfield School)

Ben Robson Newcastle Falcons (Gosforth Academy)

Kit Smith Leicester Tigers (Oakham School)

Oliver Smith Leicester Tigers (Denstone College)

Ethan Staddon Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

John Stewart Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

Harry Taylor Gloucester Rugby (Clifton College)

Freddie Thomas Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)

Will Trenholm Harlequins (Cranleigh School)

Archie Vanes Leicester Tigers

Matthew Ward Newcastle Falcons (Gosforth Academy)



Ad Space