Lucio Cinti and Juan Martín González are set to appear for Michael Cheika’s Argentina this weekend in the fourth round of Rugby Championship action against New Zealand this Saturday (3rd).

Both Exiles are named on the replacements bench for the encounter at the FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, as Los Pumas reside at the top spot of the tournament table in hopes of clinching their first competition trophy lift.

González, Cinti and co. made history last weekend as the first Argentina side to come away victors on New Zealand soil, taking a 25-18 win away from Christchurch after beating Australia with a bonus point win in Round 2 also.

Irish’s loose forward bagged his side’s only try of the game with 47 minutes gone, taking him to joint-top try scorer in this year’s Championship alongside Australia’s Fraser McReight, as well as being sixth overall in lineouts won (7) and tackles won (31).

Already a momentous occasion, Cinti achieved his landmark 10th cap for his country that evening on his first start in the 2022 Rugby Championship, like González not conceding any penalties whilst making four passes, a tackle and seven metres from four carries.  

Argentina’s fixture with New Zealand this weekend will be available to view live on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage beginning at 7.55am BST.


Argentina squad to face New Zealand

1 Gallo, Thomas (8 caps)

2 Montoya, Julian (80 caps - captain)

3 Sclavi, Joel (6 caps)

4 Petti, Guido (70 caps)

5 Lavanini, Tomás (72 caps)

6 Grondona, Santiago (9 caps)

7 Kremer, Marcos (50 caps)

8 Matera, Pablo (85 caps - vc)

9 Cubelli, Tomás (85 caps)

10 Carreras, Santiago (25 caps)

11 Cordero, Santiago (47 caps)

12 Orlando, Matías (52 caps)

13 Moroni, Matías (63 caps)

14 Boffelli, Emiliano (44 caps)

15 Mallía, Juan Cruz (18 caps)



16 Socino, Santiago (7 caps)

17 Vivas, Mayco (15 caps)

18 Bello, Eduardo (4 caps)

19 Alemanno, Matías (78 caps)

20 González, Juan Martín (14 caps)

21 Bertranou, Gonzalo (43 caps)

22 Urdapilleta, Benjamin (16 caps)

23 Cinti, Lucio (10 caps)


Argentina’s remaining Rugby Championship fixtures

Rugby Championship, Round 4- New Zealand v Argentina- Saturday 3rd September, FMG Stadium Waikato KO 8.05am BST
Rugby Championship, Round 5- Argentina v South Africa- Saturday 17th September, Estadio Jose Amalfitani KO 20.10pm BST
Rugby Championship, Round 6- South Africa v Argentina- Saturday 24th September, Hollywoodbets Kings Park KO 16.05pm BST

Ad Space