Henry Arundell is set to earn his fifth senior cap for England this Saturday as he is named as one of Steve Borthwick’s replacements to face Wales.

Arundell, made his first three caps last summer on a tour of Australia, had an impactful return to international action with an acrobatic try and two tackles in 26 minutes of game time against Italy.

England were defeated in the opening round against Scotland at Twickenham Stadium (29-23) but they avenged the loss with the aid of Arundell against the Azzurri to finish up 31-14 at headquarters.

Clubmate Ollie Hassell-Collins withdrew from England training this week as a knee issue kept him out of contention for the Round 3 fixture.

Vice-captain Courtney Lawes could make his England return following injury after being named as a replacement, with the only change to the England starting team in Round 2 being Anthony Watson coming in at left wing.

Steve Borthwick said: “Wales v England in Cardiff is one of the iconic rugby fixtures, steeped in history and always full of passion.

“We know the Principality Stadium crowd will be in full voice and we will have to be at our very best to repeat the success we had in the last round against Italy.

“I have selected a team that I think has the right players and balance to meet the particular challenges we will face this weekend.

“I am delighted to have welcomed Courtney Lawes back to the squad after injury.

“His quality and experience has contributed to a focused training week, marked by the sort of competition and intensity we expect. 

“I could not have asked any more from all the players and there is no doubt that they can’t wait to be a part of this special occasion.”

Wales v England kick-off at 4.45pm this Saturday at the Principality Stadium, and is live on BBC One and BBC Radio 5 Live.


Best of luck, Henry!



15 Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 19 caps)

14 Max Malins (Saracens, 16 caps)

13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 53 caps)

12 Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)

11 Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers, 52 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 103 caps) (C)

9 Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 9 caps)

1 Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 45 caps) (VC)

2 Jamie George (Saracens, 74 caps)

3 Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 58 caps)

4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 64 caps)

5 Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)

6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 16 caps)

7 Jack Willis (Toulouse, 7 caps)

8 Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 11 caps)



16 Jack Walker (Harlequins, 1 cap)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 76 caps)

18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 97 caps)

19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 96 caps) (VC)

20 Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

21 Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)

22 Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 19 caps)

23 Henry Arundell (London Irish, 4 caps)

Ad Space