Munster second half surge sees them home

Munster staged a late second half come back to beat London Irish 27-13 at Musgrave Park.

The match was the final lead up to the start of the Aviva Premiership where the Exiles will take on Saracens at Twickenham next Saturday.

The first half was a very lacklustre affair. Both sides failed to get any momentum in attack with mistakes foiling both London Irish and Munster when they were in strong positions.

Ian Humphreys got the Exiles on the board with a penalty goal on four minutes after referee, David Wilkinson, penalised the home side for being off side.

The hosts looked the slightly more threatening side with John Ryan, a prop forward that spent time at London Irish last season, carrying well and threatening the Irish line.

The Irish set piece looked far more assured this week with the Exiles not losing a lineout in the first half and just edging the scrum.

Ian Keatley kicked Munster's first points on 38 minutes to make it 3-3 at half time.

Irish started the second half in the ascendancy. They made a number of changes, all of which made an impact. Patrick Phibbs broke from the back of the scrum and passed to Guy Armitage who went straight through the home sides defence. He offloaded to Sailosi Tagicakibau who was tackled just short of the line. Gerard Ellis picked up and dived over for his first try for the Club. Ian Humphreys converted to give Irish a 13-3 lead.

The final quarter belonged to the home side. Winger Ronan O'Mahony crossed for a hatrick of tries and substitute JJ Hanrahan dotted down for a well taken individual try. Hanrahan kicked two conversions to make it 27-13 at the final whistle.

Score sequence (London Irish first) 3-0, 3-3, 6-3, 13-3, 13-8, 13-15, 13-20, 13-27

Scorers: London Irish: Penalties: Humphreys (4, 46); Tries: Evans (50); Conversions: Humphreys; Munster: Penalties: Keatley (38); Tries:O'Mahony (54, 76, 80), Hanrahan (72); Conversions: Hanrahan (2)


15. Denis Hurley; 14. Ronan O'Mahony; 13. Casey Laulala; 12. Cian Bohane; 11. Johne Murphy; 10. Ian Keatley; 9. Cathal Sheridan; 1. John Ryan; 2. Damien Varley (Captain); 3. Stephen Archer; 4. Dave Foley; 5. Ian Nagle; 6. Dasve O'Callaghan; 7. Sean Dougall; 8. Paddy Butler

Replacements: Mike Sherry; James Cronin; BJ Botha; Donnacha O'Callaghan; Billy Holland; CJ Stander; Niall Ronan; James Coughlan; Duncan Williams; JJ Hanrahan; Rory Scannell; Jonny Holland

London Irish

15. Topsy Ojo (rep: Andrew Fenby (56); 14. Marland Yarde (rep: Alex Lewington, 40); 13. Guy Armitage; 12. Eamonn Sheridan; 11. Andrew Fenby (rep: Saolosi Tagicakibau, 45); 10. Ian Humphreys (rep: Shane Geraghty, 60) (rep: Myles Dorrian, 74); 9. Tomás O'Leary (rep: Pat Phibbs, 40); 1. Leo Halavatau (rep: Jonny Harris, 65); 2. David Paice (rep: Jimmy Stevens, 65); 3. Halani Aulika (rep: Jamie Hagan, 40); 4. George Skivington (Captain) (rep: Nic Rouse, 27); 5. Bryn Evans (rep: Jebb Sinclair, 64); 6. Kieran Low (rep: Declan Danaher, 65); 7. Ofisa Treviranus (rep: Gerard Ellis, 40); 8. Jon Fisher (rep: Chris Hala'ufia, 40)

Replacements: Jimmy Stevens; Jonny Harris; Jamie Hagan; Nic Rouse; Jebb Sinclair; Declan Danaher; Pat Phibbs; Shane Geraghty; Myles Dorrian; Sailosi Tagicakibau; Alex Lewington; Gerard Ellis; Chris Hala'ufia; Ian Cross

Referee: David Wilkinson

Attendance: 6,340

Photograph care of Linda Molloy


London Irish

Next Home Game
Saturday 06 Sep 2014
KO: 16:30

  • Match Day
  • Events
  • A League
  • Community

© 2014 London Irish

The Avenue
Sunbury on Thames
Middlesex, TW16 5EQ
Telephone: 01932 750 100
Email us |
Bookmark this page

Digital Ink Internet Ltd, London Irish Web Site and CRM Partner

Website design,
hosting, CRM
and email marketing
Digital Ink Internet Ltd