Irish A go down at Allianz Park

Saracens Storm scored seven tries to London Irish A’s one in victory over at Allianz Park this evening.

The two sides traded early penalties from similar distances in the opening six minutes. The referee was super hot around the breakdown and punished both sides for their ill-discipline.
Ben Spencer put the hosts in front before Shane Geraghty levelled it up moments later.
Spencer edged Saracens back in front with another breakdown infringement from the Exiles the reason for the penalty.

Petrus Du Plessis scored the opening try of the match. After a well worked driving maul which the Exiles managed to stop just short of their own line. From the resulting ruck Jackson Wray powered his way over for a try. Spencer converted to make it 13-3 to the hosts.

Shane Geraghty kept eating away at the Saracens lead and kicked his second penalty on the 15 minute mark. Irish ill discipline cost them a player in the sin bin for 10 minutes and a further seven points when Jared Saunders dived over for his sides second try.

Geraghty kicked a third penalty from a difficult angle to ensure Irish remained in touch with their opponents.

Saracens forward power saw them cross for a third try five minutes before the break. Richard Barrington was the recipient after great work by his peers. Saracens led 27-9 at the break.

Irish asserted their authority on the contest at the start of the second half putting plenty of pressure on Saracens in their red zone. Unfortunately they were unable to add to their tally and it was Ben Spencer who kicked his third penalty, against the run of play, to make it 30 points to 9 to Saracens.

Tim Streather, who signed for Saracens from Nottingham, scored a fourth try before replacement Ross Hamilton added a fifth score.

London Irish kept working hard and scored a well deserved try five minutes from the end with Sean O’Connell picking up from the base of the scrum and diving over.

Jackson Wilson and Tevita Manumua scored tries just before the end to complete the scoring. Saracens Storm 58 London Irish A 14.

Score sequence (London Irish first): 0-3, 3-3, 3-6, 3-13, 6-13, 6-20, 9-20, 9-27, 9-30, 9-37, 9-44, 14-44, 14-51, 14-58

Scorers: Saracens: Penalties: Spencer (2, 8, 51); tries: Wray (13), Saunders (17), Barrington (35), Streather (57), Hamilton (65), Wilson (77),Manumua (80); Conversions: Spencer (4), Mordt (3); London Irish: penalties: Geraghty (6, 15, 20); Tries: O’Connell (75)

Saracens Storm

1. Richard Barrington; 2. Jared Saunders; 3. Petris Du Plessis; 4. Maro Itoje; 5. George Kruis; 6. Jackson Wray; 7.Matt Hankin; 8.Justin Melck; 9.Ben Spencer; 10. Nils Mordt (Captain); 11. Jackson Wilson; 12. Tevita Manumua; 13. Tim Streather; 14. Nathan Earle; 15. Ben Ransom

Replacements: 16. Max Crumpton; 17. Nick Auterac; 18.Biyi Alo; 19. Ross Hamilton; 20. Hayden Stringer; 21. Luke Baldwin; 22. Alex Goode; 23. Charlie Kingsman

London Irish A

15. Alex Lewington; 14. George Owen; 13. Mitch Tamiau; 12. Myles Dorrian; 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau (rep: Reuben Nourville, 65); 10. Shane Geraghty (rep: Harry Lightfoot-Brown, 40); 9. Tom Bliss O(rep: Ed Hoadley, 60); 1. Jonny Harris (rep: Ricky Cano, 71); 2. Gerard Ellis (rep: Scott Tolmie, 40); 3. Richard Palframan (rep: Tom Smallbone, 31); 4. Charlie Davey; 5. Scott Moore; 6. Danny Kenny (rep: Ollie Curry, 37); 7. Ben Lonergan (rep: Max Berry, 65); 8. Sean O'Connell

Replacements: 16. Scott Tolmie; 17. Tom Smallbone; 18. Ricky Cano; 19. Ollie Curry; 20. Max Berry. 21. Harry Lightfoot-Brown; 22. Reuben Nourville; 23. Ed Hoadley

Attendance: 100


London Irish

Next Home Game
Saturday 06 Sep 2014
KO: 16:30

  • Match Day
  • Events
  • A League
  • Community

© 2014 London Irish

The Avenue
Sunbury on Thames
Middlesex, TW16 5EQ
Telephone: 01932 750 100
Email us |
Bookmark this page

Digital Ink Internet Ltd, London Irish Web Site and CRM Partner

Website design,
hosting, CRM
and email marketing
Digital Ink Internet Ltd