Match Report 

19 Oct 2013: London Irish v Lusitanos XV

Please use the buttons below to see more information on Lusitanos XV and matches between Exiles and Lusitanos over the years.

Match Report: 19 Oct 2013 London Irish v Lusitanos XV

Lusitanos's Badge

Lusitanos XV


London Irish's Badge

London Irish


Fixture Type: Amlin Challenge Cup

Match Date: Sat 19 Oct 2013

Kick Off: 15:00

Venue: Campo de Pepe Rojo

Referee: Leo Colgan

Assistant Referee: Olly Hodges

Assistant Referee: Shane Kierans

London Irish scored seven second half tries to record a 67-6 victory over over Lusitanos XV in Lisbon this afternoon.

After a first half that saw many uncharacteristic handling errors the second stanza saw a far more accomplished performance from London Irish.

The Exiles started the match at a scintillating pace, pressurising their Portuguese counterparts from the opening kick-off to win possession.

On three minutes Brian Smith's charges were awarded a penalty for a dangerous tackle on Club Captain, Declan Danaher, that saw Lusitanos tight head prop Jorge Segurado in the sin bin for 10 minutes. Myles Dorrian took on the difficult penalty attempt that went over off the post.

An accidental offside on the Irish 10 metre line presented Lusitanos with the chance to level the score. Pedro Cabral struck the ball beautifully to bisect the uprights.

Dorrian added his second penalty goal on the quarter hour mark before Irish crafted their opening try just after the end of the first quarter. Darren Allinson, who had a superb game, sniped from the back of a scrum on halfway and darted up the middle of the pitch. With one man to beat, he drew the full back and passed to Sailosi Tagickibau who had the simplest of run ins. Dorrian's conversion gave Irish a 13-3 advantage.

Cabral kicked his second penalty goal to momentarily cut the deficit before Blair Cowan crossed for a great set piece score. Jimmy Stevens hit Bryn Evans at the back of the line out and he dropped the ball off to Darren Allinson who fired a pass to a galloping Blair Cowan who drove his way over the line. Dorrian's conversion saw the Exiles head into the sheds with a 20-6 lead at half time.

London Irish were clinical in the second half and crossed for seven tries in a superb display that put a smile on the faces of the travelling supporters.

Firstly the mercurial Myles Dorrian made a break and sent a spin pass to Marland Yarde who had the easiest of touch downs after three minutes of the re-start. Jimmy Stevens crossed for a brace of tries in the space of four minutes and both were a carbon copy of his try against Caverlieri Prato last Friday evening.

Marland Yarde and Alex Lewington combined well up the left hand flank for the sixth try. Yarde made the initial break, fending off two defenders before releasing the ball to Lewington who scampered clear.

Ofisa Treviranus came off the bench to power his way over for a try and Yarde added his second before Darren Allinson rounded off proceedings with the ninth try of the contest after a great flip pass from Andrew Fenby.
Myles Dorrian kicked nine from 10 attempts for a personal tally of 22 points.

Irish take on Stade Francais back to back in December to decide which team will qualify for the quarter finals.

They return to Aviva Premiership action next week with a trip to Kingston park to take on Newcastle Falcons.

Score sequence (London Irish first): 3-0, 3-3, 6-3, 13-3, 13-6, 20-6, 27-6, 34-6, 41-6, 48-6, 55-6, 60-6, 67-6,

Scorers: London Irish: Penalties: Dorrian (4, 15); Tries: Tagicakibau (22), Cowan (37), Yarde (43, 68), Stevens (53, 57), Lewington (61), Treviranus (66), Allinson (71); Conversions: Dorrian (8); Lusitanos XV: Penalties: Cabral (9, 35)
Lusitanos XV
15. Nuno Penha e Costa; 14. Duarte Moreira; 13. Pedro Bettencourt Avila; 12. Luis Miguel Leal; 11. Goncalo Foro; 10. Pedro Cabral (rep: Francisco appleton, 70); 9. Francisco Pinto de Magalhaes (rep: Diago Miranda, 65); 1. Joao Almeida (rep: Bruno Medeiros, 52); 2. Joao Correia; 3. Jorge Segurado (rep: bruno Rocha, 50); 4. Rafael Simoes; 5. Rui D'Orey; 6. Antonio Duarte (rep: Vasco Fragoso Mendes, 64); 7. Fernando Almeida (rep: bruno Rocha, 4-13), Salvador Cunha, 54); 8. Vasco Uva (Captain)

Replacements: 16. Francisco Taveres; 17. Bruno Medeiros; 18. Bruno Rocha; 19. Salvador Cunha; 20. Vasco Fragoso Mendes; 21. Antonio Salgueiro; 22. Diago Miranda; 23. Francisco Appleton

London Irish

15. Alex Lewington (rep: Guy Armitage, 70); 14. Marland Yarde; 13. Tom Fowlie; 12. Sailosi Tagicakibau; 11. Andrew Fenby; 10. Myles Dorrian; 9. Darren Allinson; 1. John Yapp (rep: Johnny Harris, 58); 2. Jimmy Stevens (rep: Mike Mayhew, 58); 3. Jamie Hagan (rep: Richard Palframan, 74); 4. Nic Rouse (rep: Ofisa Treviranus, 47); 5. Bryn Evans; 6. Declan Danaher (Captain); 7. Jebb Sinclair; 8. Blair Cowan (rep: Leo Halavatau, 74)

Replacement: 16. Mike Mayhew; 17. Johnny Harris; 18. Leo Halavatau; 19. Richard Palframan; 20. Ofisa Treviranus; 21. Guy Armitage; 22. Shane Geraghty; 23. Tomås O'Leary

Referee: Leo Colgan

Attendance: 1,500