Match Report 

27 Aug 2010: London Irish v Edinburgh

Please use the buttons below to see more information on Edinburgh and matches between Exiles and Edinburgh over the years.

Match Report: 27 Aug 2010 London Irish v Edinburgh

London Irish's Badge

London Irish


Edinburgh's Badge



Fixture Type: Friendly

Match Date: Fri 27 Aug 2010

Kick Off: 19:30

Venue: Away

Attendance: 0

Nick Meakin

London Irish suffered their first defeat of their pre-season campaign as they went down 19-17 to Edinburgh in a tense Friday night contest at Murrayfield.

Despite the result, once again there were many positives in the Exiles' performance as they played their final match before the season's curtain raiser against Saracens at Twickenham next Saturday.

Irish found themselves a try down with just 10 minutes gone after Mike Blair had cut through their lines before slipping the ball to Chris Paterson who held off two tacklers to score.

Paterson has made his reputation on the quality of his kicking rather than his try-scoring prowess, yet his conversion faded at the last minute and clattered into the post, bringing groans from the partisan home crowd.

From the very first whistle, the match had a pre-season feel about it, with both sides opting to run with ball in hand at every opportunity, and as a result an entertaining, open contest ensued.

Some of the Exiles' attacking play was a joy to watch as they tried to get themselves on the scoresheet using their pace and power to make frequent assaults on the Edinburgh line. But to no avail.

It is very rare that Toby Booth’s side go 30 minutes without troubling the scorers and with the half an hour mark rapidly approaching, Declan Danaher broke upfield, disrupting the Edinburgh defence enough to give Ryan Lamb the chance to put his backline into action.

His pass found the hands of the returning Seilala Mapusua, who checked inside and into the covering defence, but just when the momentum looked lost, Topsy burst through the line and touched down beneath the posts. Lamb converted and Irish had the lead.

While the first try was down to pace, the second, 10 minutes later, was created by the power of the Exiles pack who drove upfield and laid the platform for Marland Yarde to pick up the ball and dive over the line for his first try in his first senior start for the club.

Such has been Lamb’s fine form this pre-season that there was little surprise that his kick was once again true and Irish had a 14-5 lead to take into the break.

Edinburgh made a raft of substitutions at half-time and the fresh legs added a new impetus in the opening minutes of the new half.

Lamb extended the lead to 12 points with a penalty four minutes in, but the Irish defence had to be at its most dogged to keep out the Scots, and defence coach Dave Ellis would have been very pleased with the way his charges negated the threat.

However their lines were eventually breached as the clock ticked into its final quarter when substitute Lee Jones scored his first try at Murrayfield before David Blair’s conversion reduced the Exiles lead to 17-12.

The try roused the hosts and their supporters, as they sensed that a comeback could be on the cards and eventually the pressure told with Jones scoring his second try of the evening to square the match.

Blair then had the chance to win it and duly stepped up and slotted a fine conversion from right on the touchline.

There was still time for Gary Johnson to steal a line-out deep into Edinburgh territory with time up but Irish couldn’t break down the hosts' defence as they held on for the win.


Edinburgh:Tries: Paterson (10), Jones (60, 76); Conversions: Blair (60, 76).

London Irish: Tries: Ojo (28),Yarde (38); Conversion: Lamb (29, 38). Penalty goals: Lamb (54).

Scoring sequence(London Irish first): 0-5, 7-5, 14-5 (Half-time). 17-5, 17-12, 17-19.

London Irish: 15. Delon Armitage; 14. Topsy Ojo; 13. Elvis Seveali’i; 12. Seilala Mapusua; 11. Marland Yarde; 10. Ryan Lamb; 9. Paul Hodgson; 1. Clarke Dermody (captain); 2. James Buckland; 3. Alex Corbisiero; 4. Kieran Roche; 5. Bob Casey; 6. Declan Danaher; 7. Steffon Armitage; 8. George Stowers.

Replacements: 16. David Paice; 17. Max Lahiff; 18. Faan Rautenbach; 19. Gary Johnson; 20. Matt Garvey; 21. James Gibson; 22. Jonathan Joseph; 23. Daniel Bowden; 24. Chris Malone; 25. Darren Allinson; 26. Jamie Lennard.

Edinburgh: 15. Chris Paterson; 14. Mark Robertson, 13. Ben Cairns, 12. Alex Grove, 11. Tim Visser; 10. Phil Godman, 9. Mike Blair; 1.Allan Jacobsen, 2. Ross Ford, 3. Jack Gilding, 4. Fraser McKenzie, 5. Craig Hamilton, 6. Alan MacDonald, 7. Roddy Grant (captain), 8. Netani Talei.

Replacements: 16. Finlay Gillies, 17. Kyle Traynor, 18. Geoff Cross, 19. Grant Gilchrist, 20. Scott Newlands, 21. Greig Laidlaw, 22. David Blair, 23. John Houston, 25. Lee Jones, 26. Ross Rennie, 27. Stuart McInally, 28. Alex Blair, 29. Tom Brown, 30. Andrew Turnbull.