Match Report 

21 Apr 2012: London Irish v Worcester Warriors

Please use the buttons below to see more information on Worcester Warriors and matches between Exiles and Worcester over the years.

Match Report: 21 Apr 2012 London Irish v Worcester Warriors

Worcester's Badge

Worcester Warriors


London Irish's Badge

London Irish


Fixture Type: Aviva Premiership

Match Date: Sat 21 Apr 2012

Kick Off: 15:00

Venue: Sixways Stadium

Referee: Tim Wigglesworth

TV Match Official: David Matthews

Assistant Referee: Alan Hughes

Assistant Referee: Don Helme

London Irish outscored Worcester Warriors three tries to two to claim a well-deserved nine point victory in the Aviva Premiership this afternoon.

Joe Ansbro and Tom Homer crossed to cap an outstanding first half before Delon Armitage made sure of victory with a try seven minutes from time. Tom Homer added 10 points with the boot.

Miles Benjamin and Marcel Garvey crossed for second half tries in the farewell appearance at Sixways.

Irish started the match in positive fashion and were straight on the front foot, mounting their first attack of the match. In a desperate attempt to slow the Exiles down Worcester were penalised allowing Tom Homer to kick his first penalty of the match.

Irish continued to dominate and were rewarded with another Homer penalty only minutes later. Soon after Homer’s second penalty goal the rain, that had threatened to ruin the spectacle, stopped and allowed Irish to implement their expansive running game. This was however, after Andy Goode had clawed Worcester back into the match with a penalty on 12 minutes.

Steve Shingler who was outstanding in the fly half berth all afternoon played an instrumental role in his side’s first try, which was eventually finished off well by Scotland international Joe Ansbro. Irish controlled possession in the hosts 22 for roughly four minutes, with Shingler opting to mix the play up between the backs and forwards. After creating the opening Shingler carried the ball to the line and switched the ball back inside to Ansbro who finished beautifully. Homer added the conversion to give Irish a 13-3 lead which was no more than they deserved.

England international Andy Goode kicked a second penalty for Worcester before Tom Homer put Irish further ahead with a well worked try. The forwards dominance in attack proved its worth as Paice and Treviranus put Irish on the front foot. The ball fell into the hands of Jonathan Joseph who weighted a neat grubber kick into the Warriors 22 which was pounced on by Homer who crossed for his third try in four Premiership matches. The try gave Irish a 18-6 lead at half time.

Irish took a while to get going in the second half but certainly fronted up in defence on a number of occasions to halt Worcester’s charge.

Miles Benjamin did eventually cross for the home side on 60 minutes to set up a tense finale. However the supporter’s hopes were dashed 10 minutes later when Delon Armitage sealed victory in emphatic style. Max Lahiff beat five defenders before being hauled to the ground and then two phases later Armitage took an inside ball off Steve Shingler’s inside shoulder, ran in from 20 metres and dived under the posts. Homer’s conversion gave Irish a 14 point lead and secured victory.

There was still time for Marcel Garvey to cross for a consolation score but it was not enough.

The relief and jubilation was evident on the faces of all 23 London Irish players at the final whistle as they celebrated a hard earned victory.

London Irish welcome Gloucester to Madejski Stadium in Round 22 of the Aviva Premiership on 5th May.

Score sequence (London Irish first): 3-0, 6-0, 6-3, 13-3, 13-6, 18-6, 18-11, 25-11, 25-16

Scorers: London Irish: Tries: Ansbro (21), Homer (34), Armitage (73); Conversions: Homer (2); Penalties: Homer (7, 10); Worcester: Tries: Benjamin (60), Garvey (79); Penalties Goode (12, 26)

Worcester Warriors team

15. Chris Pennell; 14. Marcel Garvey; 13. Alex Grove (rep: Ravai Fatiaki, 50); 12. Dale Rasmussen (rep: Ben Gulliver, 59); 11. Miles Benjamin; 10. Andy Goode (rep: Danny Gray, 40); 9. Jonny Arr (rep: Shaun Perry, 40); 1. Matt Mullan (rep: George Porter, 50); 2. Ed Shervington (rep: Aleki Lutui, 50); 3. Tevita Taumoepeau (rep: Bruce Douglas, 50); 4. James Percival; 5. Craig Gillies; 6. Sam Betty; 7. Jake Abbott (rep: Maa Tvesic, 21); 8. Kai Horstmann (Captain)

Replacements: 16. Aleki Lutui; 17. George Porter; 18. Bruce Douglas; 19. Ben Gulliver; 20. Matt Kvesic; 21. Shaun Perry; 22. Danny Gray; 23. Ravai Fatiaki

London Irish team

15. Tom Homer; 14. Delon Armitage; 13. Jonathan Joseph; 12. Joe Ansbro; 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau; 10. Steve Shingler; 9. Darren Alllinson (rep: Ross Samson, 68); 1. Max Lahiff (rep: Mark George, 73); 2. David Paice (rep: James Buckland, 62); 3. Leo Halavatau (rep: Paulica Ion, 62); 4. Bryn Evans (Captain); 5. Matt Garvey; 6. David Sisi (rep: Kieran Low, 66); 7. Jamie Gibson; 8. Ofisa Treviranus (rep: Alex Gray, 62)

Replacements: 16. James Buckland; 17. Mark George; 18. Paulica Ion; 19. Kieran Low; 20. Alex Gray; 21. Topsy Ojo; 22. Adrian Jarvis; 23. Ross Samson

Referee: Tim Wigglesworth

Attendance: 10,619